Step 1: Educate yourself on the 4 C's

Yes, the universal language of diamond, the 4 C’s is what you next need to enlighten yourself on. It is this knowledge which will unlock what you want and help you come up with the right choice.

  • Diamond Color: It is the perfectly colorless diamond which is considered to be not only structurally perfect, but also chemically pure because they reflect the maximum amount of light.Most diamonds come with traces of yellow color in them. The less the color a diamond has, the more rare and valuable it is. Needless to say a diamond color is evaluated based on the absence of color. As per the Gemological Institute of America (GIA) diamond color is graded on the following scale.

    •  Color Buying Tips: In reality it is difficult to differentiate one color grade from the other unless, the comparison is being done in a controlled environment. It also becomes difficult to differentiate one color grade from another once the diamond has been set in a ring, especially in a colored setting. An H color diamond may look as colorless as a D color diamond when it has been set in a ring. Since it is easier to understand color in larger diamonds, many people go for G-H category, for diamonds over 1 carat and I-J category, for diamonds under 1 carat. Once your diamond has been set in a ring, they will look absolutely stunning and akin to the higher color grade diamonds. However, people invest more in a better cut, as cut is the most significant factor that contributes to a diamond’s brilliance.

Learn more about diamond color here.


  • Diamond Clarity: Diamonds are born with certain imperfections or flaws, both in its interior (inclusions) and on its exterior (blemishes). Clarity not only establishes the absence or presence of those imperfections or flaws, but also measures their size and number. Most of these flaws cannot be detected with a naked eye. Clarity has the least impact on the appearance of a diamond. Diamonds with no flaws are very rare and hence they are the most expensive. Below is a GIA clarity grading, the highly recognized one. 

    • Clarity Buying Tips: 10% of the diamond sold fall in the category VVS2 or above. They are bought by those who literally shrugs at the thought of any imperfections. However, the most popular range is the VS1-VS2 diamonds followed by SI1. Customers opt for SI1 or SI2 in exchange for higher cut or higher color grade. I1 clarity is generally bought by those for whom size and price are the main concern. Clarity becomes important for people who are purchasing a large diamond. So for those purchasing a diamond over 2 carats, a clarity grade of VS2 or higher is what they opt for. For diamonds between 1-2 carats, people usually go for SI1 or higher as the inclusions are not easily discernible. Clarity is generally given the least importance to diamonds that are under 1 carat.

Learn more about diamond clarity here.


  • Diamond Cut: Of all the 4 C’s cut is the most important factor as it determines the true reflective quality of a diamond. We often confused diamond cut with shape like round, princess, pear, etc. but in reality, diamond cut refers to the proportion and arrangement of the facets and how well its interaction with light is. The brilliance, fire and sparkle which so defines a diamond is determined by the cut. GIA scale rates cut in the following way:

    • Cut Buying Tips: Ideally, no compromise should be made with diamond cut because this is the sole contributor to a diamond’s beauty. A poorly cut diamond with excellent clarity and color will be duller than a diamond of excellent cut and lower color and clarity. People who wish to go for round diamond and superior brilliance usually consider a cut grade of Excellent or Very Good. Those who wish to go for some fancy shape diamonds, generally consider a diamond of cut grade Good or higher. For some people the major concern is the size of the diamond, hence they go for Fair- Good cut especially for fancy shape diamonds. The Poor cut diamond is widely avoided by the general mass.

Learn more about diamond cut here.


  • Diamond Carat: Carat refers to the weight of a diamond. The higher the weight of a diamond, the more expensive the stone because the larger the diamond, the more it's chance of rarity. A metric carat equals to 200 milligrams or 0.2 grams. Two diamonds of the same carat can have two different prices because of factors like, clarity, cut, and color.
    • Carat Buying Tips: Perhaps nothing is as difficult as deciding what carat weight should you choose when buying a diamond. Carat weight directly affects the size of the diamond you are buying. Hence, in deciding the diamond carat, knowing your fiancé’s expectations is important. What is she expecting? Will she be happy with a 0.5 carat diamond or is she expecting something bigger? If she was expecting a 2 carat diamond from you, a beautiful and dazzling 1 carat will be a disappointment.

Learn more about diamond carat here.



Diamond Shapes Motek Diamonds Dallas Tx

A common question you may be struggling to answer is what shape I should choose! You will get the best answer from your fiancé of course. If you do not wish to let her know, you can try digging out the answer from her friends.

The most popular shape of diamond is the round brilliant cut diamond because they are the most classic, timeless and are always beautiful.  Princess cut diamonds are becoming more popular, as well as cushion cut diamonds. There is also a rise in oval and emerald shapes.

Looking at images online versus inspecting diamonds in person is very different.  At Motek Diamonds, we like to work one-on-one with our customers, showing all options and helping guide you through the diamond purchase process.  With over 1000 diamonds available, we are confident we can meet your needs while providing all the necessary information.

Learn more about each diamond shape here.

STEP 4: Certification Is Optional, But Recommended

One should not just rely on any certificate. A large majority of people go for diamonds that come from an unbiased, reputable and scientific source like GIA. Other reputed labs include AGS (American Gem Society), EGL, IGI, and HRD (popular in Europe). Keep the certificate in a safe place for future use like in the case of loss or resale. It must be remembered that certificates is a form of art and not science. Every lab has it's own guidelines in which they operate by. A diamond with a certificate is usually more expensive than an uncertified diamond. 

Learn more about diamond certification here.

Step 5: Get Your Diamond Insured

Finally Yet Importantly, having the diamond insured and appraised is necessary. Motek Diamonds offers third party insurance options for you to choose from.

© Copyright 2016 Motek Diamonds by IDC.